Meghan Partain's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Day I Almost Tripped 150 People October 12, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — meghanpartain @ 10:21 am
Tags: ,

So there was a football game yesterday in Norman. It was also Pride Parents’ Weekend, which means my mother and my nanny came to watch me march with the Pride. I was very excited, especially about pregame because pregame is my favorite part of what we do.

The parade was fine and then we went to sit in the tunnels, where we drink water and sit and socialize until we had to line up to go onto the field for pregame. It’s probably important for you to know that above the entrance to each tunnel, is a white rectangle with the word PRIDE painted inside them. It’s tradition to jump up and hit the word while running onto the field. I have had no problems with this for the last two home game. On Saturday, however, I must have mistimed it.
The Pride paint in the tunnel
My fingertips scraped the edge of the cement and when I landed on my knee, I felt it buckle beneath me and I flew through the air and slid through the tunnel. The only thought I had in my head was, “Get out of the way because there are 100 other people who have to run through this tunnel.”

I plastered myself against the wall and thought everything was peachy until a flute player’s leg caught the top joint of my clarinet and it slid even farther from my grasp. I could hear the drum cadence winding down, and the only thing I remember thinking was “Get on the field, because Mr. Britt will kill you if you don’t march pregame.”

I ran quick like a bunny and made it onto the field just in time to pivot to face the south and play the fanfare, which I definitely would have done, had it not been for my reed that was completely ruined and my mouthpiece, which had a giant chunk out of it.

I was fine until we finished pregame and started running to our seats. My friend, Danielle, caught me and I told her the story through my tears. She laughed, which made me laugh because, really? The entire thing is a little bit ridiculous.

So I fell running out of the tunnels. Whatever. I didn’t break myself, I didn’t break my clarinet, and I didn’t ruin my uniform. Sam Bradford (My Future Husband) got to play again and we beat Baylor. My mom and grandma got to come up for a game and see me march. AND IT FINALLY QUIT RAINING!!!!!!!

We’re heading to Dallas this week and the only thing I have left to say is… BEAT THE HELL OUT OF SAXET!
null

 

Leave a Reply

